Navigation and service

You are here:

The German G20 Presidency 2017

December 19, 2016

Logo G20 Germany 2017. Labour and employment ministers meeting.

Who is the G20?

Germany assumed the Presidency of the G20 on 1 December 2016. The 19 leading advanced and emerging countries and the EU account for nearly two-thirds of the world's population, over four-fifths of global gross domestic product and three quarters of world trade. The G20 is therefore the central forum for international cooperation on financial and economic issues.

The Heads of State and Government of the G20 have met at an annual summit since 2008, where they traditionally deal with questions concerning the growth of the world economy, international trade and the regulation of financial markets. The G20 finance ministers and central bank governors had already been meeting regularly since 1999. Further topics of global importance are often closely linked with economic issues: climate change, development policy, labour market and employment policy, the digitization and, as is currently the case, the fight against terrorism. Therefore, the G20's range of topics now includes a broad agenda.

Since 2010, labour and employment policy has also become very important in the G20. Since then, the G20 labour and employment ministers have met annually under a rotating chair. Effective interaction between economic, financial and labour market policies is also an area of focus. The G20 labour and finance ministers have thus held occasional joint meetings (Moscow 2013, Ankara 2015).

Members of the G20

Nineteen countries and the EU belong to the G20. The countries are: Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, Germany, France, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, the Republic of Korea, Mexico, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Turkey, the United Kingdom and the United States.

The following international organisations also take part in the G20 summits at the invitation of the Presidency: The International Monetary Fund (IMF), World Bank (WB), Financial Stability Board (FSB), Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD), World Trade Organization (WTO), International Labour Organization (ILO) and the United Nations (UN). The Presidency may also invite other countries and regional organisations. In addition to the G20 member countries, Spain, Singapore, the Netherlands and Norway will participate as guest countries in the meetings during the German Presidency of the G20, as well as the heads of the following regional organisations: the African Union (AU), the New Partnership for Africa's Development (NEPAD), and the Asia Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC).

In 2017, the summit of Heads of State and Government will take place in Hamburg. The last summits were held in St. Petersburg (2013), Brisbane (2014), Antalya (2015) and Hangzhou (2016).

Shaping an interconnected world

More than ever, joint action by the world community is needed in order to address acute global challenges: geopolitical conflicts, terrorism, famine, natural disasters, climate and health catastrophes, migration and displacement, as well as social inequality. All of this threatens the livelihoods of people, in particular in low-income countries. Uncertainty and concern are also increasing in advanced economies, providing fertile ground for populist movements.

The G20 must therefore address these challenges by working together pro-actively and finding common economic, social and political responses. International cooperation offers the chance to shape the trend toward interconnectedness for the benefit of all, and to contribute to a fairer distribution of its benefits. "Shaping an interconnected world" is thus the official motto of Germany’s G20 Presidency.

Germany wants strengthen the collective responsibility role of the G20 and pushes for strong, sustainable, balanced and inclusive growth based on UN's 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development and the Paris Climate Agreement. The programme of the G20 Presidency in 2017 will therefore be based on three pillars:

  1. building resilience
  2. improving sustainability
  3. assuming responsibility

In addition to the summit meetings of the Heads of state and government, there will be six ministerial meetings during the German Presidency:

  • Ministers for Agriculture on 22 January 2017 in Berlin
  • Foreign Ministers on 16 and 17 February 2017 in Bonn
  • Ministers of Finance on 17 and 18 March 2017 in Baden-Baden
  • Ministers in charge of digital affairs on 6 and 7 April 2017 in Düsseldorf
  • Ministers of Labour and Employment on 18 and 19 May 2017 in Bad Neuenahr
  • Ministers for Health on 19 and 20 May 2017 in Berlin

Dialogue with social partners and civil society groups

Germany's G20 Presidency plans to hold a comprehensive dialogue with the social partners like employers (Business20) and trade unions (Labour20). There will also be dialogues with non-governmental organisations (Civil20), the science and research community (Science20), think tanks (Think20), women (Women20) and youth (Youth20). The organisations representing business, labour and civil society will independently develop positions and recommendations on the topics of the G20 agenda and bring these to the table.

More information is available at